Home » The Ultimate Guide: Is Yogurt Gluten-Free?

The Ultimate Guide: Is Yogurt Gluten-Free?

People who are allergic to gluten look for naturally gluten-free foods to include in their diet safely. Well! The good news is – most plain yogurt is naturally gluten-free. While some yogurt may have certain gluten content, one needs to be conscious to pick up plain yogurts from grocery stores after checking their ingredients list. It helps in complying with a gluten-free diet. Most of the cheese and yogurt are even certified gluten-free.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein that is naturally found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye. Hence the bread and pasta made from these ingredients contain gluten in them. A gluten-free diet does not contain gluten-containing grains.

Hence, most yogurts are free from gluten. The yogurt with granola toppings is the only exception. As this topping may contain gluten, one needs to check in before picking up the one.

Should you care about gluten?

Unless you have Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, it is perfectly fine to go with gluten in your diet. Celiac is an auto-immune disease that damages the small intestine, which is responsible for absorbing nutrients. Hence, one needs to be strict to stick to a gluten-free diet. Do you know most of the fruits and vegetables are gluten-free?

As yogurt is high in protein and calcium, you can enjoy its tangy taste. It can be a healthy addition to your gluten-free diet. Look for plain yogurt as the flavored yogurts may also contain gluten.

Gluten-free yogurt brands you may count on:

Dannon Yogurt: With its variety of styles and flavors, Dannon Yogurt produces gluten-free yogurt in its wide varieties. YoCrunch, Oikos Low Fat Greek Frozen Yogurt, Dannon Parfait, Oikos Crunch, LNF Greek Crunch, and Activia Fiber are gluten-free products. But, before buying, don’t forget to check its labeling to ensure that it is gluten-free.

Cabot Yogurt: Enjoy the delicious Greek Yogurt in seven distinct flavors like vanilla, plain, low-fat, strawberry, and non-fat. All the products from Cabot are claimed to be gluten-free. If you are sensitive to the traces of gluten, yogurt from Cabot is safe for you. The company claims that all the ingredients to make the yogurt is researched to be free from gluten.

Stonyfield Farm: Known for its delectable smoothies and yogurt, Stonyfield produces soy yogurt, YoBaby yogurt, and Oikos Organic Green yogurt. The GFCO certifies all the gluten-free products from this manufacturer. There are several frozen yogurts which the company market and does not contain any gluten ingredient.

However, as these frozen yogurts are manufactured on the same equipment on which gluten yogurt is prepared, the company does not label them gluten-free.

Yoplait Yogurt: The completely gluten-free list of Yoplait yogurt can thrill any yogurt lover. Most of the company products are claimed to be gluten-free. However, yogurt with granola is not gluten-free.

Chobani Yogurt: The thick plain Chobani Greek yogurt varieties produced by the company come invarious flavors. The company claims its products to be naturally gluten-free. It also specifically marks its gluten-free products, which are further certified by Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), to assure meeting the highest food standards.

Fage Yogurt: Love to indulge in flavored yogurt? If yes, Fage yogurts are the right deals to explore. Available in exotic flavors like honey-based toppings and fruits, all the yogurts from Fage are gluten-free and duly approved by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) as well.

Voskos yogurt: Enjoy a gluten-free Greek Style thick yogurt from Voskos, which maintains your health and tantalize your taste bud with its creamy yogurts. Currently, the company has stopped producing Voskos Plus Granola Flavored Yogurt, which was not gluten-free.

Besides these renowned brands, there are other brands in the market producing gluten-free yogurt. Like regular yogurts, even frozen yogurts are also gluten-free. However, it is highly recommended to check out the labels before picking up any yogurt.

Naturally gluten-free yogurt

1.    Dannon Yogurt:

  • Oikos Organic Greek Yogurt,
  • So Delicious Coconut Milk Yogurt,

2.    Stonyfield Farm O’Soy+

  • Unsweetened Plain and Strawberry.

3.    Greek Gods 100% Grassfed Yogurt, Plain

4.    Blue Hill Yogurt.

5.    Cabot Creamery

Plain and flavored yogurt:

  • strawberry
  • blueberry
  • plain
  • vanilla
  • peach
  • coconut cream.

6.    Stonyfield Farm:

Soy yogurt in various flavors such as strawberry-banana banana split, creamy vanilla, and berries with whole-grain blueberry crunch granola.

7.    Fage:

  • Plain,
  • Strained and Total Yogurt,
  • Mixed Fruit with Granola & Almonds,
  • Blueberry with Whole Grain Graham Crust,
  • Honey-Vanilla Greek Style Yogurt with Granola and Almonds,
  • Strawberry Banana Topped with Chewy Red Fruits.

8.    Voskos:

  • Plain,
  • Honey,
  • Blueberry.

9.    Amy’s Kitchen:

Variety of yogurts in different flavors like

  • Plain unsweetened
  • Vanilla bean sweetened
  • Mixed berry sweetened
  • Strawberry banana sweetened

What is a certified Gluten-Free Diet?

A certified gluten-free diet aims at protecting consumers from gluten disorders. Gluten disorder is a harmful disease that can cause health issues such as diarrhea, abdominal pain, fatigue, and many more.

The management of the gluten-free diet requires consuming food items containing less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten ingredients. Only those foods containing less than 20 ppm of gluten during their manufacturing process or due to cross-contamination can be considered gluten-free.

The foods with naturally less than 20 ppm of gluten do not contain gluten themselves. Still, they might contact other products (such as wheat) that may contain gluten during the manufacturing process or transportation.

Are yogurt products gluten-free?

Several yogurt products are gluten-free or contain less than 20 ppm of gluten during their manufacturing process. For example, Chobani Plain and flavored yogurt, Fage Total and Strained Yogurt, Oikos Organic Greek Yogurt, Blue Hill Yogurt, and many more.

Is whole milk yogurt gluten-free?

Whole milk yogurt is completely gluten-free because it does not contain any ingredients derived from wheat or barley. Thus, opting for whole milk yogurts will keep you away from consuming gluten and enjoy the health benefits of consuming healthy foods.

Are low glycemic foods gluten-free?

Yes, low glycemic foods are gluten-free. However, not all gluten-free dietary options are low glycemic.

Glycemic index is how much a carbohydrate-containing food raises blood sugar level per 100 grams of that particular food item.

Is dairy-free yogurt gluten-free?

Dairy-free yogurt is completely gluten-free because it does not contain any ingredients derived from wheat or barley. Thus, opting for dairy-free yogurts will keep you from consuming gluten and enjoy the health benefits of a dairy product rich in nutrients and proteins.

Is Kosher certified yogurt gluten-free?

It depends.

Kosher-certified food items are expected to contain no gluten or anything derived from grains, wheat, barley, or rye. But, this does not necessarily mean that they are 100% gluten-free.

Is low-sugar yogurt gluten-free?

Low Sugar Yogurts are gluten-free. Several low-sugar yogurts are available in the market that does not contain any gluten or grain-derived ingredients. Thus, people may choose to buy low-sugar yogurt as a healthy dietary option.

Are Chobani Flip products gluten free?

While Chobani Flip Yogurt is gluten-free, the individual flavors might differ.

The company manufactures several products from fresh Greek yogurt to flavored yogurts in different flavors like strawberry banana split, creamy vanilla, and berries with whole-grain blueberry crunch granola. So, one should check the ingredients before picking them up from grocery stores.

Is Oikos organic yogurt gluten-free?

Yes, the Oikos Organic Yogurt is 100% gluten-free.

You can find them in grocery stores with different packaging options like plain unsweetened, vanilla bean sweetened, mixed berry sweetened, strawberry banana sweetened.

Is Almonna yogurt free from gluten?

Yes, the Almonna Yogurt is 100% gluten-free and thus can be consumed regularly by people following a diet free of gluten and grains.

What are gluten-free flavors in Yogurt?

People may choose a healthy alternative to traditional flavors of yogurt by opting for gluten-free flavors. For example, you may go for vanilla-flavored yogurt with chocolate chips instead of plain or fruit-flavored ones.

Is Soy yogurt free from gluten?

Soy Yogurt is 100% gluten-free.

It is made from Non-GMO soybeans that do not contain any gluten ingredients. Thus, you may enjoy soy yogurt without worrying about the consequences of consuming gluten.

Is all Yoplait yogurt gluten-free?

One of the most popular options in Yoplait Yogurt is French vanilla yogurt.

French Vanilla Yogurt is gluten-free.

However, you need to check the ingredients list carefully before picking up any yogurt flavors from grocery stores.

Is peanut butter gluten-free?

Peanut Butter is safe for individuals following a gluten-free diet.

However, you need to check the ingredients list of peanut butter before picking it up from grocery stores.

Is Greek goddess yogurt gluten-free?

Greek Goddess Yogurt is gluten-free in the sense that they do not contain any ingredients derived from grains.

It is made out of organic milk, which has been certified by the American Humane Association. So, you may enjoy the flavor of Greek yogurt without worrying about its gluten content or derivation.

Conclusion

Gluten-free yogurt is a great way to explore the taste of the most favorite food in a new and different way. A gluten-free diet won’t make you compromise on your dietary needs anymore. You can enjoy healthy and delicious foods which are free from harmful ingredients like gluten.

Today, you can find yogurt in different flavors like vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry.

You may choose to try out vegan or organic options of yogurts. The gluten-free yogurts are low on carbs and sugars, thus making them a healthy option for people following a diet free from grains.